Alumni Cross Country Website


A report from OS Geoffrey Watson (E 89-93)

An earlier date for 2022 saw the Alumni race take place in September rather than the usual pre-Christmas weekend. Difficulty in hosting so many runners in the small clubhouse had prompted Thames Hare and Hounds to find a day with more amenable weather. Although race entries were down on some of the previous years there were still 147 runners who completed the 5 mile circuit of the common in dry and sunny conditions. 

Sedbergh managed to field a team of eight runners in the end, despite looking as if we might not have a team earlier in the week. Thanks to those extra runners the team managed to come away with a surprising victory to notch up our fifth win in the open event (2003,2008,2011,2012,2022). Sedbergh have also won the ladies team event and had several individual wins over the years with Charles Sykes, Andy Symonds and John Brearley, being the first Sedbergh win in 1973.

Amongst the team were the current Wilson run record holder, Fraser Sproul (S 15-22) and former record holder Charles Sykes (SH 90-93). Charles led the team home in 6th place and also was the leading V40 runner. Fraser was right behind in 7th place despite not having run for several months. A remarkable performance. The teams third and fourth counters were Angus O’Brien (24th) and Robert Buchanan (34th). They sealed a team win of 71 points ahead of Rochester Maths (80) and Shrewsbury (96)

Sedbergh’s other runners were Adam Hanline (54th), Marcus Baker (100th), Geoff Watson ( 109th), Ben Collins (119th).

Thanks to all who came out to run and support and to Bill Sykes for the team photos. A fantastic day for all our OS Runners!

You can see details of the results here and a history of the Alumni Race here.