The 2024 Morgan Run proved popular again with over 450 runners taking part representing, house, School, staff, OS and town running teams. The course started again on the cross country course by Akay as is now customary, due to the new astro turf pitch on Newfield. The OS team had a good turnout of 15 runners. Sadly both Sam Fisher and Chris Barron could not make it. We were also pleased to include Andrew Fleck and Jim Fisher in the OS squad. 

The weather fortunately was dry and mild compared to storms of recent weeks, but the ground was wet underfoot, especially across the fell. 

The race was led home by a trio of runners  in the 27 minute bracket. Harry Cooling won for the town team in 27:20 with Ben Van Dijk 2nd for the the OS in 27:50. Hugo Berry was 3rd place, leading the 1st VIII home in 27:42.

In the female race first and second were taken by Julia and Daisy Fielding for the girls 1st VIII in 34:19 and 35:10. Sally Bennett was close behind in 35:14 taking 3rd place for the OS.

Our other team counters in the male race were Tom Wright (25th), Michael Sturla (27th), David Lonsdale -Eccles (37th) and Duncan Berry (44th). Early speculation that the team race might be close was unfounded,  the 1st VIII won with  71 points to the OS 139! The 1st VIII were very consistent packing all counters in the top 23 places. 

Our other team members finished as following: Geoff Watson 56th, Andrew Fleck 65th, Adam Pimblett 87th, Oli Pease 132nd, Ben Collins 133rd, Henry Ackroyd 156th, Jim Fisher 174th and James Gordon 196th.

Left to right: Andrew Fleck, Adam Pimblett, Michael Sturla, Jim Fisher, Tom Wright, Duncan Berry, James Gordon, David Lonsdale-Eccles, Ben Collins, Oliver Pease, Geoff Watson

Thanks must be recorded also for the organisation of the race by Richard Wells and his team who put a great deal of work into this event every year. It is much appreciated by the OS. 

The following morning David Lonsdale-Eccles and I were feeling especially keen to get an old favourite in and ran up Winder after breakfast.

Dave Lonsdale Eccles
Dave Lonsdale-Eccles

Geoff Watson (E 89-94)